Click on Recipient:

Product Details

Back to Gifts Back to Gifts

Gift Recommendations

2Reminders.com is dedicated to find you birthday and special occasion gifts that anyone will appreciate. We're constantly updating this page to show birthday, Mother's Day, Father's Day, and other gifts that your friends and family will like. Click on one of the recipient types to see our Men, Women, Teen, Kids, or Baby gift pages! If you get stuck, Gift Cards are always a safe idea.
LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary

LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary
By Simon Beecroft

This item is not available for purchase from this store.
Buy at Amazon


140 new or used available from $1.35

Average customer review:
(467 customer reviews)

Product Description

In true DK style, LEGO® Star Wars™: The Visual Dictionary elucidates, illuminates, and excites even the most discerning LEGO Group, Star Wars™, and minifigure fans around the world.

Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Yoda, Luke Skywalker, and more are brought to life with dozens of little-known facts and hundreds of photos of accessories, vehicles, weapons, and even the Death Star! Learn about the history, manufacturing, and construction of the minifigures of the Star Wars galaxy, and come away a LEGO® Jedi Master.


Product Details

  • Amazon Sales Rank: #151836 in Books
  • Published on: 2009-09-21
  • Released on: 2009-10-05
  • Format: Lay Flat
  • Original language: English
  • Number of items: 1
  • Dimensions: 12.06" h x .89" w x 10.23" l, 2.10 pounds
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • 96 pages

Features

  • Fans of Star Wars and LEGO alike will enjoy this fascinating visual dictionary
  • Learn about the manufacture and construction of the minifigures of the Star Wars galaxy
  • Characters like Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Yoda and more are brought to life
  • Learn more about accessories, vehicles, weapons and even the Death Star
  • Little-known facts and hundreds of photos

Editorial Reviews

Review
"After what seems like dozens of 'visual dictionary' books about the Star Wars universe, DK Books (and author Simon Beecroft) gets down to the stuff we really care about -- Star Wars Legos. Not only are they excellent gateway drugs to slowly suck your children into the Sarlacc Pit of Star Wars collectibles, but you can bust them up into a million pieces and then put them into something completely different -- try that Transformers! This profusely illustrated volume follows the DK Visual Dictionary format, supplying basic lingo about all the SW characters and vehicles, plus details on the Lego versions..." --Geek Monthly, September 1, 2009

"LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary is a book full of awesome...In short: If you like the LEGO Star Wars sets and minifigs, you will love this book. If you put it down long enough to let your kids read it, I can pretty much guarantee they'll like it, too." --Wired.com - Geek Dad Blog, October 9, 2009


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful.
5An Awesome Update to an Awesome Book
By El Tonio
[[VIDEOID:mo9BMB253PIHII]]I am an avid collector of Lego Star wars sets and minifigures, and was big fan of the original edition of this book. So, when I found out about this updated and expanded edition I preordered right away. I got my copy today, and I'm happy to report that this beautiful and fully expanded edition is as good or better than the original in every way.

This book was released to coincide with the 15th Anniversary of the Lego Star Wars theme. The first edition was published in 2009 (or on the 10th anniversary of the theme), and includes Lego Star Wars sets through 2010. A lot of new sets have been released since then, so this edition provides a much need update. The book includes lots of great things from the original (like the timeline), plus some wonderful new things (like the minifigure gallery) and updates. Here is a list of the key things I liked best about this new edition of the book.

(1) It includes just about everything from the first edition (so no need to go back and buy that book if you don't already own it unless you want that minifigure). Plus, it includes info on all of the sets released since then, INCLUDING everything slated for release in 2014 even if it was not out when the book was released (like the Sandcrawler 75059, Mos Eisley Cantina 75052, AT-AT 75054, and more).

(2) My favorite part is that it still includes the very helpful and chronological 8 page list of all Lego Star Wars sets ever released (with a picture of each box and broken down by episode/series/expanded universe).

(3) Another great part (and an awesome NEW addition to the book) is the 14 page minifigure gallery. It's a great way to see variations of each figure side by side, and also very fun to look through in general.

(4) Yet another great new addition is that it includes a Set Index at the back so it is much easier to find everything.

(5) It includes 100s of full color photos, and lots of interesting and helpful text and factoids about various sets and the minifigures that came with the sets. I know there can always be more pictures or more text, but given the size of the book and the amount of material they had to cover, I think they continue to do a very nice job overall.

(6) All that, and it includes a "retro" Luke Skywalker mini-figure that has the traditional yellow skin you see on most Lego minifigures (including the very first Lego Star Wars minifigures) rather than the more authentic skin color that has been used on Lego Star Wars minifigures since around 2004. I did not start collection Lego Star Wars sets until about five years ago, so this was a real treat for me. The only potential issue some people may not like is that this "exclusive" minifigure looks very similar to (if not the same as) the figure that was released in the original 1999 Landspeeder set (7110). If there is a differences between the two it is very small (it is disassembled and I don't plan on opening mine, so if someone reading this has that set please let us know for sure one way or the other by leaving a comment or by writing your own review).

In sum, the Force is strong with this one. It is sure to be a real treat for just about any Lego Star Wars enthusiast. If you enjoyed the original edition, then this one is definitely worth getting.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
4Great content, Bad design
By Plasma52
As far as content, the book is great. The design of the book is not so great. The cover is very thick to accommodate the minifigure and is only attached with one page. It is very easily unglued, especially with a young user. Chances are, if the book is open and it slips off and on to the floor, it will probably come unglued. I also bought the similar Batman book and it is designed the same way, and did come unglued. Whoever produces the book should come up with a better way. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it and also my grandson is.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
5Wonderful LEGO book with an exclusive Luke Skywalker minifig
By Beth E Byars
The book alone is worth the price, as it covers every single LEGO Star Wars release up to the current 2014 sets. In this edition, there is also the inclusion of a minifig gallery that was sorely lacking in the previous edition of the book.

Plus there is the retro Luke Skywalker minifig that is exclusive to this release, which if past, out of print book release minifig prices continue to climb as they have, this book is a fantastic bargain, and for the serious collector you may want to purchase multiple copies for "safe keeping".

See all 467 customer reviews...