Click on Recipient:

Product Details

Back to Gifts Back to Gifts

Gift Recommendations

2Reminders.com is dedicated to find you birthday and special occasion gifts that anyone will appreciate. We're constantly updating this page to show birthday, Mother's Day, Father's Day, and other gifts that your friends and family will like. Click on one of the recipient types to see our Men, Women, Teen, Kids, or Baby gift pages! If you get stuck, Gift Cards are always a safe idea.
LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary

LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary
By Simon Beecroft

This item is not available for purchase from this store.
Buy at Amazon


135 new or used available from $1.35

Average customer review:
(473 customer reviews)

Product Description

In true DK style, LEGO® Star Wars™: The Visual Dictionary elucidates, illuminates, and excites even the most discerning LEGO Group, Star Wars™, and minifigure fans around the world.

Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Yoda, Luke Skywalker, and more are brought to life with dozens of little-known facts and hundreds of photos of accessories, vehicles, weapons, and even the Death Star! Learn about the history, manufacturing, and construction of the minifigures of the Star Wars galaxy, and come away a LEGO® Jedi Master.


Product Details

  • Amazon Sales Rank: #241596 in Books
  • Published on: 2009-09-21
  • Released on: 2009-10-05
  • Format: Lay Flat
  • Original language: English
  • Number of items: 1
  • Dimensions: 12.06" h x .89" w x 10.23" l, 2.10 pounds
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • 96 pages

Features

  • Fans of Star Wars and LEGO alike will enjoy this fascinating visual dictionary
  • Learn about the manufacture and construction of the minifigures of the Star Wars galaxy
  • Characters like Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Yoda and more are brought to life
  • Learn more about accessories, vehicles, weapons and even the Death Star
  • Little-known facts and hundreds of photos

Editorial Reviews

Review
"After what seems like dozens of 'visual dictionary' books about the Star Wars universe, DK Books (and author Simon Beecroft) gets down to the stuff we really care about -- Star Wars Legos. Not only are they excellent gateway drugs to slowly suck your children into the Sarlacc Pit of Star Wars collectibles, but you can bust them up into a million pieces and then put them into something completely different -- try that Transformers! This profusely illustrated volume follows the DK Visual Dictionary format, supplying basic lingo about all the SW characters and vehicles, plus details on the Lego versions..." --Geek Monthly, September 1, 2009

"LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary is a book full of awesome...In short: If you like the LEGO Star Wars sets and minifigs, you will love this book. If you put it down long enough to let your kids read it, I can pretty much guarantee they'll like it, too." --Wired.com - Geek Dad Blog, October 9, 2009


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
4Great content, Bad design
By Plasma52
As far as content, the book is great. The design of the book is not so great. The cover is very thick to accommodate the minifigure and is only attached with one page. It is very easily unglued, especially with a young user. Chances are, if the book is open and it slips off and on to the floor, it will probably come unglued. I also bought the similar Batman book and it is designed the same way, and did come unglued. Whoever produces the book should come up with a better way. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it and also my grandson is.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.
5Wonderful LEGO book with an exclusive Luke Skywalker minifig
By Beth E Byars
The book alone is worth the price, as it covers every single LEGO Star Wars release up to the current 2014 sets. In this edition, there is also the inclusion of a minifig gallery that was sorely lacking in the previous edition of the book.

Plus there is the retro Luke Skywalker minifig that is exclusive to this release, which if past, out of print book release minifig prices continue to climb as they have, this book is a fantastic bargain, and for the serious collector you may want to purchase multiple copies for "safe keeping".

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.
5A nice look at Lego Star Wars sets of the past
By Hollowittz
If your a fan of Lego Star Wars than this book is a must! It covers the sets from 1999-2009. It lists the year the set was made, how many pieces it had, the star wars movie its from, and the number of the Lego set. So if you're a collector or if you just want to see what some of the old sets looked like then this book is for you.

The minifigure that comes with this book is Luke Skywalker wearing a medal. Also the books thickness is half pages and half the board that is holding the minifigure. The covers are nice and thick and well made. The pages are huge and are easy and pleasing to look at. The font is fairly large as well and is easy to read.

Throughout the book you get information about the various sets and some cool facts such as 'how set number 7662 was the first set that had battle droid minifigures with turned hands that could hold a standard blaster' and things like that. The pages also point out various features of sets and some of the various details on certain minifigures.

Near the end of the book you also get to see some of the mini sets which was really cool, some older Lego Technic, and the ultimate collectors series. Also some of the sets get both pages dedicated to them so you can really see all of the features and information about them. Finally at the very end you get an interview with Jens Frederiksen, who is the Lego Star Wars Design Manager, about various things such as the design process, how long it takes, and other things. It truly is interesting and I really enjoyed having that in the book. Then there is a page about some merchandise they have had such as the Lego Star Wars watches, pens, video games, etc...

Overall this book was awesome and I really appreciated all the info and being sable to see how far they have come along throughout the years. I highly recommend this to any Star Wars and Lego fans.

See all 473 customer reviews...